International Research Ethics Education and Curriculum Development Award

The NIH Research Education Program supports research education activities in the mission areas of the NIH.  The overarching goal of the program is to support the ethics of educational activities that foster a better understanding of biomedical, behavioral, and clinical research and its implications. To accomplish this, this Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) will support creative educational activities with a primary focus on:

TWAS Lenovo-Sciencel Awards

The TWAS-Lenovo Science Award is one of the most prestigious honours given to scientists from the developing world. The rapid growth Lenovo has experienced in emerging markets has prompted the company to partner with TWAS to launch a high-level prize to give international recognition and visibility to individual scientists in the developing world for their outstanding scientific achievements.

Digital Technology Development Awards (Climate-Sensitive Infectious Disease Modelling)

This one-off call provides funding for software developers from any career stage and discipline to develop digital tools that will improve climate-sensitive infectious disease modeling. By the end of the award, successful applicants will have delivered a piece of open-source digital technology that will increase the impact of research in addressing this threat to health.

Funder: Welcome Trust


TWAS Bi-Annual Awards

The Academy provides nine awards to individual scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least 10 years. The cycle of the TWAS Awards is now every two years. Awards are in in recognition of an outstanding contribution to scientific knowledge in nine fields of sciences and/or to the application of science and technology to sustainable development.


Funder : The World Academy of Science

URL     :

Deadline: 31st March 2022

IEEE ITS Presidential Award for Sustainability in Transportation

Transport-related decisions can contribute significantly to achieving climate neutrality due to the adaptation of transport systems serving as a factor in transport efficiency. In this context, the application of digital technologies for use in automation, sensors, and communication technologies as they pertain to the field of Intelligent Transportation Systems, make it possible to respond to transportation needs with sustainable solutions.

IDRC Doctoral Research Awards 2022-2024

This project will nurture emerging leaders in the application of research to contribute to the Sustainable Development Goals and specific development outcome areas of particular interest to IDRC. It will enable Universities Canada to develop and implement a merit-based, peer-reviewed scholarship program for doctoral students at Canadian universities to conduct field research in developing countries.

Public Engagement with Research Award

The European Research Council’s (ERC) Public Engagement with Research Award is designed to recognize and celebrate ERC grantees who have demonstrated excellence in public engagement and outreach. ERC grantees have a contractual obligation to communicate their project and many of them are outstanding science communicators. The ERC would like to recognise those who engage with audiences outside their domain to communicate their research funded by the European Union.

Arrell Global Food Innovation Awards

Arrell Food Institute recognizes global leaders who are ensuring future food security for the planet, and hopes to inspire new leaders to take bold steps towards change. Scientific excellence and community engagement are necessary to overcome the challenges our world will face in feeding 9 billion people and beyond.

This first award recognizes a researcher, or group of researchers, who has advanced understanding of food production, processing, distribution, consumption, safety and/or human nutrition, with a significant positive impact on society.

BioInnovation Institute & Science Prize for Innovation

The prize is presented for outstanding research performed by the applicant as described in a 1,000-word essay.

The Grand Prize Winner Receives: The Grand Prize winner will be awarded a cash prize of USD 25,000 and will be provided travel and accommodation for the awards ceremony, if applicable.  They will also receive a 5-year digital subscription to Science and have their winning essay published in Science, both in print and online.